0416 spring fashion 01 wizeea

Modern

Flowing silhouettes, textured textiles, and minimalism come together in jumpsuits, separates, and dresses for streamlined monochrome looks.

(From left to right.)

On Maile: Kate Towers White Collar dress, $422 at katetowers.com; Mystic Arch turquoise earrings ($200) and Lorica necklace ($200) at demimondeshop.com; Johnston and Murphy Gwyn loafer, $188 at shoes.com

On Courtney: Olderbrother Geri short-sleeve shirt ($275) and Forty-Five trouser ($250) at olderbrother.us, Seaworthy Oleria necklace ($110) and Monde bracelet ($74) at seaworthypdx.com; Not Rated Footwear Hamilton bootie, $65 at shoes.com

On Keely: Laurs Kemp Sonja crop top ($118) and Nina skirt ($168) at laurskemp.com; Seaworthy Oleria earrings, $78 at seaworthypdx.com; Dr. Martens 1461 3-Eye shoe $115, at shoes.com

On Sarah: Howard banded jumper, $431 at Frances May; The Salt Empire Dusting earrings, $89 at thesaltempire.com; Seaworthy Blason cuff, $76 at seaworthypdx.com; Naturalizer Danya heel, $79 at shoes.com

On Simone: Alexa Stark White Denim for Denim dress, $458 at alexastark.com; Seaworthy Monde ring, $44 at seaworthypdx.com; Wanted Babe oxford, $50 at shoes.com

0416 eccentrics aihtg1

Eccentrics

Portland fashion can’t always be categorized. Designers like Bryce Black and Veil & Valor embrace the avant-garde, while individualists flock to the fun of Brady Lange, Sara Bergman, and Wildfang’s in-house line.  

(From left to right.)

On Courtney: Bryce Black Rain ribbed tank dress ($225) and Sunset velvet jacket ($995) at bryceblack.net; Seaworthy Naef necklace, $115 at seaworthypdx.com; Strathcona black floral knee-highs, $36 at strathconastockings.com; Not Rated Footwear Hamilton bootie, $65 at shoes.com

On Sarah: Brady Lange Paint crop top ($45) and Paint denim short ($125) at bradylange.com; GX by Gwen Stefani Marion heel, $120 at shoes.com

On Simone: Wildfang Kahlo blazer ($148 ) and Depp pant ($98), at wildfang.com; The Salt Empire Archer necklace, $72 at thesaltempire.com; Sam Edelman Leopard boot, similar styles at shoes.com

On Maile: Sara Bergman striped tee dress ($88), Creature Print bomber jacket ($248) and Double Knot necklace ($68) at ilovesarabergman.com; Isola Breanna sandal, $100 at shoes.com

On Keely: Veil & Valor Wings to Fly caftan, $350 at veilandvalor.com; The Salt Empire Statement Archer necklace ($129), Scallops necklace ($56), and Cosette earring ($84) at thesaltempire.com; Splendid Jaylen boot, $179 at shoes.com

0416 spring workwear ld4qhg

Workwear

Sleek tailored trousers, ’60s-style bow-tied blouses, and perfectly sewn shift dresses abound: office options without a hint of drab.

(From left to right.)

On Courtney: 6/7 triangle tunic, $328 at Six/Seven; The Salt Empire Mountain/Triangle stacked bracelets, $24 each at thesaltempire.com; Isola Breanna sandal, $100 at shoes.com

On Keely: Lizz Basinger Bent Dart romper, $179 at lizzbasinger.com; Demimonde turquoise and brass ladder necklace, $158 at demimondeshop.com; The Salt Empire Crown Chakra hair accessory, $34 at thesaltempire.com; Guess frames, $200 at visionworks.com; Nine West Tatiana pump, $79 at shoes.com

On Maile: Myriam Marcela Ayana floral dress, $478 at myriammarcela.com; Demimonde As Above So Below earrings, $168 at demimondeshop.com; Via Spiga Tiara sandal, $250 at shoes.com

On Sarah: Tiffany Bean bow-tie top ($128) and high-waisted skirt, $148 at Mabel and Zora; The Salt Empire Cosette earrings, $84 at thesaltempire.com; Just Cavalli frames, $200 at visionworks.com; Calvin Klein Gella pump, $109 at shoes.com

On Simone: Michelle Lesniak Promise pant ($250) and Rose blouse ($175) at michellelesniak.com; Seaworthy Cuate necklace, $140 at seaworthypdx.com; Vince Camuto Carlotte pump, $129 at shoes.com

0416 spring gowns opl55t

Gowns

Portland may have more special-occasion wear than actual special occasions. With options from custom couture capes to off-the-rack chiffon, the only limit to your dream dress is price. 

(From left to right.)

On Maile: Elizabeth Dye racer back georgette gown, $900 at elizabethdye.com; The Salt Empire Triangle earring, $84 at thesaltempire.com; Seaworthy Lazlo necklace ($136) and Verte cuff ($62) at seaworthypdx.com; Via Spiga Tiara sandal, $250 at shoes.com

On Keely: Wendy Ohlendorf three-piece Francesca ensemble (pant not pictured), $2,500 at Boulevard de Magenta; Seaworthy Orina cuff, $68 at
seaworthypdx.com; Vince Camuto Carlotte pump, $129 at shoes.com

On Sarah: V Thongrivong custom Privy gown, price upon request at v@vforfashion.com; The Salt Empire Shield ring, $64 at thesaltempire.com; Carlos Santana Posy stiletto, $79 at shoes.com

On Courtney: Holly Stalder strapless silk dress with train (price upon request) and lace capelet ($145) at Haunt

On Simone: Sonia Kasparian gold sequin gown, $3,800 at soniakasparian.com; Seaworthy Ceylon ring ($68) and Palmae hairpin ($78) at seaworthypdx.com


Styled by Eden Dawn
Photographs by Christopher Dibble
Wardrobe Assistant: Sarah Cadwell
Photo Assistants: Joseph Eastburn & Evie McShane
Hair and Makeup: Kelly Peach
Assistants: Marissa Freeman & Sheri Mendes
Models: Courtney Bryant, Simone HowardMaile Kam, Sarah Schroeder, (all with Option), & Keely DiPietro

Show Comments
In this Article

Editor’s Pick

Haunt

Womens Apparel 811 E Burnside Suite 114

Owned by Portland’s indie-fashion godmother, Holly Stalder, this studio houses Stalder’s pieces and veteran locals like Kate Towers.

Editor’s Pick

Wildfang

Womens Apparel Multiple Locations

Wildfang is a much better word for tomboy. It also means “wild child,” “rascal,” “animal caught in the wild.”