top books

2012 Oregon Book Award Winners

Joe Sacco wins first graphic novel award

By Aaron Scott April 24, 2012

Last night, Literary Arts announced the winners of the 25th annual Oregon Book Awards. Standouts include Joe Sacco’s meticulously reported and drawn Footnotes in Gaza winning OBA’s first ever graphic novel award (yes, it took them 25 years to acknowledge that graphic novelists deserve a seat at the literary adult table—the book also won a 2010 Eisner Award), and Patrick deWitt’s novel about two murderous brothers, The Sisters Brothers, winning the Ken Kesey Award for Fiction (it was also a finalist for the Booker Prize).

Eloise Jarvis Mcgraw Award for Children’s Literature
Graham Salisbury of Lake Oswego
Calvin Coconut: Hero Of Hawaii

Leslie Bradshaw Award for Young Adult Literature
Emily Whitman of Portland

Frances Fuller Victor Award for General Nonfiction
Kenneth J. Ruoff of Portland
Imperial Japan At Its Zenith: The Wartime Celebration Of The Empire’s 2600th Anniversary

Sarah Winnemucca Award for Creative Nonfiction
George Estreich of Corvallis
The Shape Of The Eye: Down Syndrome, Family, And The Stories We Inherit

Stafford/Hall Award for Poetry
Carl Adamshick of Portland
Curses And Wishes

Ken Kesey Award for Fiction
Patrick Dewitt of Portland
The Sisters Brothers

Pacific Northwest College of Art Graphic Literature Award
Joe Sacco of Portland
Footnotes In Gaza

Readers Choice Award
Lidia Yuknavitch of Portland
The Chronology Of Water

Walt Morey Young Readers Literary Legacy Award
Dr. Ulrich Hardt of Portland

For more about Portland arts, visit PoMo’s Arts & Entertainment Calendar, stream content with an RSS feed, or sign up for our weekly On The Town Newsletter!

Filed under
Show Comments